HD breeding value


The correct answers to the most frequently asked questions

In order to have the breeding value rated where can I bring my dog to? Or, which breeding value is the better one, more than 100 or less than 100? These are the HD breeding value questions which the main office is asked consistently for.
Therefore, we collected the most frequently questions and had them responded for you from Dr. Beuing, the scientific leader of the project.
 

1. How is the breeding value for my dog calculated? What is the used formula?

There is not quite a formula for calculating the breed value. In the beginning, the breed value of each animal is considered to be unknown, in the form: HD = breed average + breed value of this animal + bias of gender + other effects. In this equation the breed average, the breed value and the effect of the gender are verbalized as reason for HD. In SV, for 450.000 dogs 450.000 equations are formed with the 450.000 unknown breed values. Afterwards, some additional conditions about laws of heredity and heritability are verbalized mathematically. Following, the computer has to resolve the 450.000 equations with the 450.000 unknowns. The results are the estimated breed values. Therefore, a formula to calculate the breed value for a separate dog does not exist.
 

2. How decisive is the HD rating of my own dog for its HD breeding value?

The dog HD-level modified what we already knew about the lign (father and mother). Siblings (same father and same mother) are differenciated by a possible HD-level diffrence. When an animal have an offspring, the own HD-Level loses its importance. With 30-40 offsprings, it almost doesn't matter anymore.
 

3. How is a foreign “a” rated for the HD breeding value?

Foreign dogs with an "a" will be at the moment so valued, as if they were not x-rayed. Their breed value only results from the checked relatives. The animals that are not clearly certifiable as "free" or "still permitted", would be unfairly accepted in an individual case.
 

4. Why can a dog which has not been x-rayed itself have a HD breeding value?

There is a constraint in the system of equation (cf. answer of question 1), that the father (and the mother) pass on half of his/her hereditary characteristics to the offsprings. If we do not know anything about the animal (no x-ray) as long as the breed value of the father and the mother is known, from there the breed value of the offsprings can be estimated. A precise assessment of the parents can be made, if the offsrings are known, then the offsprings have half of the parents hereditary characteristics. On the one hand, siblings help to characterize the parents, on the other hand, the knowledge about the parents breed value help as well to assess the unchecked siblings breed value.
 

5. How accurate can the HD breeding value be when for more than half of the puppies per year no HD rating is on file?

For the breed value calculation does not count the percentage of puppies but the absolute number. At present, he last "Bundessieger" has 91 x-rayed descendents; they characterize his inheritance well.
 

6. Until now, my female passed the “a“ good on. What happens when I breed her with a male with a HD breeding value of more than 100?

When the female passed on well, her breeding value has to show this. However, good offspring can also result of good mating. For example, when the female has been bred to a male with 100 the risk for the puppies increases. The female is only compromised when the puppies are worse than it had to be expected with this male.

Generally, one can say that the sire’s owners are well advised to accept also more “worse“ females because when the females are worse the male can proof that he improves.

Because there is no better HD rating than HD free is not difficult to show a positive heredity transmission with top females.
 

7. How are dogs without HD rating integrated into the calculation of the HD breeding value?

At present, for the breeding value animals which have not been x-rayed are “neutral”; they are elided.
 

8. What means the average breeding value 100 and the standard deviation of 10 points as mentioned in the breeding plan?

The breed value 100 means that the aminal passes on typical for the breed. Currently, the average of the breed is 1.71, this is between HD free and slight HD. The inheritance can be better or worse than 100. The average deviation top down is adjusted to 10 points medium.
 

9. What does a breeding value of 100 mean for my dog?

A breed value of more than 100 for the own dog means that the dog passes on detrimental. Because the average of the breed is still not entirely satisfying breeding should be preferred when it results lower than 100. However, the baby may not be thrown out with the bath water. First priority is performance, character etc. Using a breeding male who pushes the average to under 100 is sufficient.
 

10. On the opposite, what does a breeding value of less than 100 for my dog?

A breed value lower than 100 means that you have much tolerance to select males of good performance and exterior, also if their breed value is more than 100. When the female has a breed value of 83 the male can be accepted also with a breed value of 117!
 

11. Can a breeding value also be calculated for other criteria than HD and, if yes, for which?

A breeding value can also be calculated for other characteristics. However, it is important to specify the characteristic exactly. Next is contemplated to describe the heritage of size. This breeding value will be just for the information of the breeder; there will be no requirements concerning this matter.

Dr. Reiner Beuing
University of Gießen

Verein für Deutsche Schäferhunde (SV) e.V.

Der HD-Zuchtwert


Die richtigen Antworten auf die häufigsten Fragen

Wo kann ich meinen Hund hinbringen, um seinen Zuchtwert schätzen zu lassen?, oder welcher Zuchtwert ist besser, über 100 oder unter 100?. So lauten die Fragen zur Zuchtwertschätzung HD, die immer wieder an die Hauptgeschäftsstelle gestellt werden.
Wir haben deshalb noch einmal die häufigsten Fragen zusammengestellt und von Herrn Dr. Beuing, dem wissenschaftlichen Leiter des Projekts, für Sie beantworten lassen:
 

1. Wie berechnet sich der Zuchtwert HD für meinen Hund? Wie sieht die Formel dafür aus?

Eine Formel gibt es in diesem Rechenverfahren nicht direkt. Der Zuchtwert jedes Tieres wird zu Beginn der Berechnung als Unbekannte angesehen. Dann wird für jedes Tier eine Gleichung aufgestellt, in der Form: HD = Rassenmittel + Zuchtwert dieses Tieres + Verfälschung des Geschlechtes + sonstige Wirkungen. In dieser Gleichung sind Rassemittel, Zuchtwert und Geschlechtseffekt als Ursache für HD formuliert. Im SV werden so für 450.000 Tiere 450.000 Gleichungen aufgestellt mit den 450.000 unbekannten Zuchtwerten. Mathematisch werden dann einige Zusatzbedingungen über Vererbungsgesetze und Erblichkeit formuliert. Der Computer muss anschließend die 450.000 Gleichungen mit den 450.000 Unbekannten lösen. Die Lösungen sind dann die geschätzten Zuchtwerte. Eine Formel, in der für einen Hund separat der Zuchtwert berechnet wird, gibt es somit nicht.
 

2. Welche Rolle spielt der eigene HD-Befund meines Hundes für seinen HD-Zuchtwert?

Der eigene HD-Grad modifiziert das, was man über die Linie (Vater und Mutter) schon wusste. Geschwister (gleicher Vater und gleiche Mutter) unterscheiden sich durch einen evtl. unterschiedlichen HD-Grad. Wenn ein Tier Nachkommen hat, tritt der eigene HD-Grad mehr und mehr in den Hintergrund. Bei 30 - 40 Nachkommen spielt er praktisch keine Rolle mehr.
 

3. Wie wird ein ausländisches "a" für die Zuchtwertschätzung HD bewertet?

Ausländische Hunde mit "a" werden im Rechenverfahren derzeit so gewertet, als wären sie nicht geröntgt. Ihr Zuchtwert ergibt sich nur aus den untersuchten Verwandten. Da die Tiere nicht eindeutig als "frei" oder "noch zugelassen" einstufbar sind, wäre eine Annahme im Einzelfall ungerecht.
 

4. Wieso kann ein Hund, der selbst nicht geröntgt wurde, einen Zuchtwert für HD haben?

In dem Gleichungssystem (s.a. Antwort auf Frage 1) gibt es eine Nebenbedingung, dass der Vater (und die Mutter) die Hälfte seiner Erbanlagen an die Nachkommen weitergibt. Daher ist der Zuchtwert der Nachkommen auch schätzbar, wenn man über das Tier nichts weiß (ungeröntgt), solange der Zuchtwert von Vater und Mutter bekannt ist. Genauso ist auch ein Elterntier schätzbar, wenn man Nachkommen kennt, denn Nachkommen haben die Hälfte der Erbanlagen von den Eltern. Geschwister helfen einerseits die Eltern zu charakterisieren, das Wissen über die Zuchtwerte der Eltern hilft andererseits, die Zuchtwerte der ungeprüften Geschwister zu schätzen.
 

5. Wie genau kann die Zuchtwertberechnung für HD sein, wenn für mehr als die Hälfte der Welpen pro Jahr gar kein HD-Befund vorliegt?

Bei der Zuchtwertschätzung kommt es nicht auf den Prozentsatz der Welpen an, sondern auf die absolute Zahl. Der letzte Bundessieger hat derzeit 91 geröntgte Nachkommen, die seine Vererbung gut charakterisieren.
 

6. Meine Hündin hat bisher das "a" gut vererbt. Was passiert, wenn ich sie mit einem Rüden mit einem HD-Zuchtwert über 100 anpaare?

Wenn die Hündin gut vererbte, muss das ihr Zuchtwert ausweisen. Gute Nachzucht kann jedoch auch aus guten Anpaarungen resultieren. Wenn die Hündin z. B. mit einem Rüden von 100 angepaart wird, steigt das Risiko für die Welpen. Die Hündin wird nur belastet, wenn die Welpen schlechter werden, als es mit dem Rüden zu erwarten war.

Generell gilt, dass Rüdenbesitzer gut beraten sind, wenn sie auch “schlechte“ Hündinnen akzeptieren, denn an schlechten Hündinnen kann ein Rüde am besten zeigen, dass er verbessert.

Bei HD, wo es freier als frei nicht gibt, ist es schwer, an Spitzenhündinnen eine positive Vererbung nachzuweisen.
 

7. Wie fließen Hunde, die keinen Röntgenbefund haben, in die HD-Zuchtwertberechnung ein?

Derzeit sind ungeröntgte Tiere "neutral" für die Zuchtwertschätzung, sie werden nicht beachtet.
 

8. Was bedeutet der mittlere Zuchtwert 100 und die im Zuchtplan genannte Standardabweichung von 10 Punkten?

Der Zuchtwert 100 bedeutet, dass das Tier rassetypisch vererbt. Derzeit liegt der Rassedurchschnitt bei 1,71, also zwischen HD-frei und leichter HD. Die Vererbung kann besser oder schlechter als 100 sein. Die durchschnittliche Abweichung nach oben und unten wird im Mittel auf 10 Punkte eingestellt.
 

9. Was bedeutet ein Zuchtwert über 100 für meinen Hund?

Der Zuchtwert über 100 für den eigenen Hund bedeutet, dass er verschlechternd vererbt. Da selbst der Rassedurchschnitt noch unbefriedigend ist, sollten Paarungen angestrebt werden, die unter 100 liegen. Dabei darf "das Kind nicht mit dem Bade ausgeschüttet werden". Die erste Priorität hat Leistung, Wesen usw. Wenn man einen Deckrüden findet, der die Welpenerwartung (Durchschnitt von Rüde und Hündin) unter 100 drückt, ist das ausreichend.
 

10. Was bedeutet umgekehrt ein Zuchtwert unter 100 für meinen Hund?

Ein Zuchtwert unter 100 bedeutet, dass man in der Wahl wesensfester, leistungsstarker und exterieurmäßig guter Rüden viele Freiräume hat, selbst wenn deren Zuchtwert über 100 liegt. Bei einer 83er Hündin kann selbst ein Rüde mit 117 akzeptiert werden!
 

11. Kann ein Zuchtwert auch für andere Kriterien als HD berechnet werden und wenn ja, für welche?

Eine Zuchtwertschätzung kann auch für andere Merkmale vorgenommen werden. Wichtig ist dabei, dass das Merkmal genau definiert ist. Als nächstes ist angedacht, die Größenvererbung zu beschreiben. Diese Zuchtwerte wären dann rein informativ für die Planung des Züchters. Auflagen dazu wird es nicht geben.

Dr. Reiner Beuing
Universität Gießen